This Recipe Will Self-Destruct in 5 Seconds: Sticky Toffee Pudding

 

Sticky Toffee PuddingBefore I go any further let me apologise. I know you might think that I’m being arrogant or big headed: but my sticky toffee pudding recipe is the best around. Maybe it’s down to my secret ingredient of tea. Over the years many people have asked for the recipe and I have always dodged the question, certainly I’ll email you the recipe or remind me later and I’ll give you a copy.

Here for the first time (ever) I am going to write it down for the world to see, be quick as this recipe will self-destruct in 5 seconds


Sticky toffee pudding is a modern classic, visit any gastro pub and you will see it on the dessert menu. Like most good dishes people have played around with it, added a twist here and there and come up with their own interpretation of the dish (some have come out better than others).

Made correctly I love sticky toffee pudding as it’s soft, delicate and warming even when served with ice cream.

When I was given the recipe I currently use (I don’t know who gave it to me) I was told it came from the original recipe. I’ve nearly really given any thought to this statement but if I find myself making this for anyone who might find it interested (that’s not a lot of people) I’ll slip this nugget of information in to the conversation.

Over the years I have made this recipe 100’s times and it always works. Every time I make it I have to  do a test bake of one (I make mine individual as they take less time to bake and are softer) as I always think the mixture is too wet. Once I have seen the lonely pudding rising I know its ok to make the rest.

And what do I do whilst I wait for my sticky toffee puddings to bake? I dip my test bake (you can’t waste) in to the toffee sauce.

Ingredients
Sticky Toffee Pudding
12oz Caster sugar
4oz butter
4 eggs
12oz Self rising sugar
12oz Dates – pitted
1 Pint water
2 Teabags
2 Teaspoons bicarb of soda

Sorry the recipe is in ounces but I’ve always made it in ounces. 

Toffee Sauce
90g Demerara sugar
1 Tablespoon Golden syrup
1 Tablespoon Black treacle
80g Butter
400ml Double Cream

Method

Turn on your oven to 180ºc. Place the dates, water and teabag (secret ingredient) in a pan and slowly bring to a boil. Whilst the dates come to a boil cream the sugar & butter until pale and fluffy. Add your eggs one at time to the sugar & butter mix. By the time you have down this the date should have come to a boil. remove the tea bags, add the bicarb of soda to your pan and blend with a stick blender (I do this so people cant tell that I have dates in the pudding). Add to your sugar, butter & egg mixture and fold in the flour. Don’t worry if the mixture looks wet, it will be fine.

Butter your moulds, I use the plastic/silicon muffin trays or you can use a baking tray. Ladle in the mixture and bake for 15 minutes until a skewer comes out clean when inserted in the middle of the pudding.

Whilst the puddings are baking add the Demerara sugar, golden syrup, black treacle and butter to heavy bottom pan. bring to a boil and stir in your cream. Your sauce is now ready to use. If you don’t use it all store it in the fridge for 10 days.

 

4 thoughts on “This Recipe Will Self-Destruct in 5 Seconds: Sticky Toffee Pudding

  1. Pingback: The First 50: A Look Back At My Top 10 Post So Far | Custard or Cream

Leave a Reply

