Roll on the Winter: Roast Chicken

Roast ChickenUs Brits love to complain, discuss or make comment about the weather.
When it’s raining for 8 months a year (which it does) we long for some sunshine. However a few days later we’re all complaining it’s too hot and wishing for rain.

The UK is going through a mini heatwave at the moment which means that temperatures are soaring to around 30c (98F) in some parts of the country. As we don’t see much sun here in the UK When the sun eventually does start to shine and the temperature hits around 17c (64F) we head to the parks (we have many spectacular ones to choose from), beaches (more stones then golden sand) and we go to our garages searching for the BBQ. Once we find our BBQ it is without doubt dirty from last year, has no gas or you have run out of charcoal.

As a kid my memories of BBQ’s were burnt sausages, chard burgers and under cooked chicken that always had to go in the oven to finish it off. Now that I’m older I tend to use my BBQ for one purpose, chargrilling. Cooking butterflied chicken breast that have been soaking in olive oil, lemon juice & thyme is easier on the BBQ. By the time I’ve cleaned my chargrill pan, cooker top and wall its easier to go to the garage take out my gas BBQ, light it and cook it (I also don’t have to clean it).

This year I have been a bit more adventurous on the BBQ and my last blog post (http://wp.me/p4yOty-53 Which I know you didn’t read as I made the mistake of posting it at the same time that the World Cup final started) was about my BBQ.

I failed to mention earlier that the one thing unusual weather fronts also seem to bring is thunder, lightning and rain.

A little bit of rain is nice when its been warm and muggy all day. It clears the air makes you feel better, makes it easier to sleep – Hold on I’m turning in to one of those who complain about the weather.

All this rain has made me think about the winter and how much I love roast dinners so whilst there is rain in the air I’m going to put away the BBQ and roast a chicken.

Chicken Ingredients
1 x Best chicken you can afford
50ml x Olive Oil
15g x Saison’s London Chop House Seasoning Blend (saison.co.uk)

Method
Mix olive oil and Saison’s seasoning, rub over chicken and leave in the fridge for 30 minutes. Set oven to 150c place the chicken on to tray with a trivet and roast the chicken until the juices run clear when you put a knife in between the body and the leg.

Roasting it on a low temperature will allow the chicken to cook whilst retaining its juices.

Once cooked remove from the oven and rest for 10 minutes. This allows the juices to go back in the chicken.

Vegetable Ingredients
6 x Carrots
6 x Parsnips
5 x Maris Piper Tomatoes
25ml x Cooking Oil
20g x Saison’s British Root Roast Seasoning Blend
10 x Salt
Few springs fresh time

Method

Peel potatoes, cut them in to 3 equal size. Place in cold salted water and bring to the boil until the potatoes almost fall apart. drain potatoes and allow to drip dry on a cooling rack or the tray you use under the grill. Doing this will make the potatoes fluffy.

Place the oil on a cooking tray and place in the oven to get warm.

1/4 your  carrots and parsnips. Remove hot oil from oven. Place your potatoes, parsnips and carrots on tray and sprinkle with seasoning, salt and thyme. Roast until golden brown.

 

One thought on “Roll on the Winter: Roast Chicken

  1. Pingback: The First 50: A Look Back At My Top 10 Post So Far | Custard or Cream

Leave a Reply

