Plan B: Apple, Pear & Blueberry Crumble

apple pear & blueberry cr I’ve written 26 blog post so far which I think is pretty good going, I decided quickly that I wasn’t going to post everyday, setting a target for myself to write 1-2 good post per week. I have the recipes to be able to post at least once a day if not twice but I just don’t have the time. So I’ve hatched plan B for when life gets in the way of Blogging.

I cook a lot (which I love to do). If cooking for a day job or cooking dinner every night at home wasn’t enough opportunities for blog content I also love to host friends and family at home for lunch, dinners or BBQ, which I do quiet frequently.

This weekend was a perfect chance to get some blog content as I had a house full with 14 friends for a BBQ.

My day started early saturday morning as I arouse around 7am to go to a fairly local bakers to pick up my preordered rolls and bread. Its not the closest bakers to me but my local bakers doesn’t actually sell rolls or allow you to order bread.

My next stop was butchers number 1 to pick up my Skirt/Flank/Bavette steak. For those of you that haven’t come across this cut of beef you need to search out your local butcher and get them to order you some in. 1/3 the price of fillet steak and a more depth flavour the price will sore as it become more popular.

Another plus point of buying local is the ability to get what you want. Two days prior to me picking up my Bavette I had taken to my butcher my home made chimichurri marinade which they marinated for me – Parsley, Coriander, Garlic, Salt, Chili Flakes, Onion, Olive Oil, Sherry Vinegar, Lemon Juice – Blend

After a quick stop I went to butcher number 2. I would have bough my Bavette here however they couldn’t get any for me (normally this would annoy me and force me to take my whole order to butcher 1 but I let it slide this time). To go alongside the usual burgers and sausages I ordered some boneless thighs (so much more flavour than breast) that I asked to be boned out (which means I have bones for stock) . As with butcher number 1 I’d taking in a marinade for my chicken so that they could start the flavour process before I picked it up – Yoghurt, Honey, Curry Powder, Turmeric, Lemon Juice, Salt & Pepper.

Home by 8am I was ready to start the other prep and I already have 2 great dishes for future blog post.

Next up was the salads:

Potato Salad: Potatoes, Diced Celery, Diced Red Onion, Flat Parsley (from the garden), Greek Yoghurt, Mayonnaise, Salt & Pepper.

Coleslaw: Red Cabbage, White Cabbage, Carrot, Red Onion, Lemon Juice, Greek Yoghurt, Mayonnaise & Poppy Seeds.

Tomato Salad: Red, Green & Orange Tomatoes, Rocket, Balsamic Vinegar, Olive Oil, Red Onion & Parmesan Cheese.

Pesto Pasta Salad: Pasta, Home Made Mint Pesto, Spinach & Pine Nuts

Chargrilled Vegetables: Little Baby Red, Yellow & Orange Peppers, Aubergine, Courgettes, Olive Oil, Fennel Seeds, Mustard Seeds & Salt.

Cous Cous Salad: Cous Cous, Vegetable Stock, Onion, Mushrooms, Peppers, Mint (from the garden) & Lemon Juice.

Bean Salad: Pinto Beans, Kidney Beans, Butter Beans, Spring Onions & French Dressing.

Thats 9 new blog post and recipes. Add to it the home made granola & chocolate brownies for desserts thats a potential 11 new posts (thats enough to keep me going to Christmas)

But as John Steinbeck wrote in Of Mice and Men: “The best laid schemes of mice and men often go awry”.

Before I had reached for my camera my 13 hungry guest had launched at the food and my 11 new blog post slowly dwindled away.

So in the true style of Helen Skelton, Valerie Singleton, Richard Bacon & Anthea Turner here’s one I prepared earlier:

Apple, Pear & Blueberry Crumble

Fruit Mix
550g Bramley Apples or another cooking apples – Peeled, cored & chopped.
550g Pears – Cored, I never peel them.
200g Blueberries.
100g Brown Sugar
25g Ground Cinnamon
50g Butter

Topping
300g Unsalted Butter
600g Plain Flour
150g Soft Brown Sugar
150g Caster Sugar
100g Porridge Oats

Method

Peel, core and chop apples. Core & chop the pears. Heat the butter in the pan add the sugar, cinnamon pears & apples. Cook the pears and apple for 5-10 minutes and then add the blueberries. Cook for a further 5 minutes.

In a blender place the butter and the flour (or spend 30 minutes doing by hand). Mix until a crumb. Add the two sugars, porridge oats and mix.

Place the fruit mix in to an ovenproof dish top with crumble mix and bake at 180c until golden brown.

Serve with custard or cream.

3 thoughts on “Plan B: Apple, Pear & Blueberry Crumble

  1. Pingback: Quick Post: Chimichurri Beef | Custard or Cream

Leave a Reply

