The Pancake Sacrifice: Blueberry Pancakes with Maple Syrup & Bacon

Blueberry PancakesIts not to everybody’s liking but meat and fruit combinations work well together. You have the classic roast pork with apple sauce, pan-fried duck with orange sauce and the classic thanks giving and christmas favourite roast turkey & cranberries.

So is it time to add a new flavour combination? Smoked bacon & blueberries.

In honour of Thanksgiving and the fact that every single social media outlet that I subscribe to (which is all of them) were showing 4th July inspired blog post and recipes I decided that I would bring a bit of Americana to my weekend breakfast.

Having gone through a roll-call of American dishes that I could make (cheesecake, muffins, grits, mac cheese or cornbread) I decided on blueberry pancakes (it helped that I had just been given some blueberries).

I love pancakes but don’t eat nearly enough. Every year on pancake day I make sure I only eat breakfast because come dinner my meal will be pancakes, sugar, lemon juice, cream & strawberry jam.

It’s a little unknown fact but cooking pancakes is an art. Too much oil and the pancakes become a soggy mess of grease, too little oil and the pancakes will burn.

So how do I cook pancakes?

First of all I have a special pancake pan. Thats right I have a pan that I only use for making pancakes its nonstick and I never wash it.

The next thing I do is sacrifice the first pancake. Let me explain this to you before you think I am a little delusional.

As I said the most important part of cooking pancakes is the oil. After placing the oil in the pan it needs to warm up, The majority of times there is too much oil in the pan and its too warm so the best way to rectify this is to scarify a little bit of pancake batter to test the pan. Once you have made this sacrifice you are ready to go.

Blueberry Pancakes with Smoked Bacon & Maple Syrup

Ingredients
200g Self-raising flour
1 Tablespoon baking powder
1 Egg
300ml Milk
150g pack blueberries
Sunflower oil
Maple syrup
Smoked bacon – As much as you like

Method
Start by placing your bacon under the grill.

Whilst the bacon is grilling mix together the flour, baking powder and a pinch of salt in a large bowl.

Beat the egg with the milk, make a well in the centre of the dry ingredients and whisk in the milk to make a thick smooth batter and gently stir in 100g of the blueberries.

Heat a teaspoon of oil in a large non-stick frying pan. Drop a small tablespoonful of the batter in the pan to make your sacrifice. Once you are happy with your pan drop a ladle of batter per pancake into the pan to make pancakes about. Making three or four pancakes at a time (depending on pan size). Cook for about 3 minutes over a medium heat until small bubbles appear on the surface of each pancake, turn and cook another 2-3 minutes until golden.

Keep warm and repeat until you have used all the batter.

Place pancakes on a plate and top with bacon, maple syrup and the rest of the blueberries.

 

One thought on “The Pancake Sacrifice: Blueberry Pancakes with Maple Syrup & Bacon

Leave a Reply

