Gluten (B)Free: Gluten Free Pancakes & French Toast

Gluten Free Eggy BreadMy friend Bob is 6ft 6in, 18 stone and Scottish. Bob is a true scot (I know I’m being stereotypical here but) he drinks whisky, eats haggis nips and tatties, wears a kilt and used to be a chef. So when he rang me to tell me that he had a vision and was leaving the life of a chef behind I was shocked, when he told me he was leaving in search of great gluten free products I laughed at him, so when he said he would send me some to try I put the phone down on him.

Given time to think about Bobs offer I thought to myself why would anybody who didn’t need to eat gluten free want to go near a gluten free product?

My experience of gluten free bread, pasta and cakes isn’t great. The taste of most gluten free breads I’ve tasted sit somewhere between chip board & MDF. The pasta needs to be boiled for a month prior to eating and the cakes could be used to build houses.

Over the years wheat and gluten intolerances have risen leaving more and more people being affected and like all micro economises capitalist seized the day. When a demand for gluten free products arose a supply soon followed, that was except in the restaurant industry

Like the great vegetarian revolution of the 90s great chefs around the globe struggled to come up with interesting gluten free dishes. Ask a chef to turn a unusable cut of meat or vegetable in to a dish and they will come up with a dish that sells for £30, ask them to not use wheat or gluten and we struggle.

So here I am with a box of gluten free products with no idea where to start and then I remembered it’s only bread with the gluten removed. After prodding and poking the different types of bread I had be sent I decided to keep it simple and try a few of my favourite dishes.

Gluten Free Pizza

Pizza Ingredients:

Pack of BFree gluten wraps
Spoonful of pesto (homemade pesto http://wp.me/p4yOty-40 )
Pinch of pine nuts
50g Rocket
24 Sun dried tomatoes (oven roasted tomatoeshttp://wp.me/p4yOty-3M)
Balsamic Glaze (make it double balsamic to sugar or honey. reduce until thick)
Parmesan Shaving (As much as you like)

Method
Place a frying pan on the stove and warm up. place the wrap in the pan and dry fry for about 3-4 minutes until it starts to crisp up. Remove from pan and place on a chopping board.

Spoon on the pesto covering the wrap,add tomatoes, pine nuts, rocket and parmesan. bake at 180ºc for 5 minutes until cheese is melted.

Squeeze over the balsamic glaze and enjoy.

Gluten Free Eggy Bread

French Toast / Eggy Bread

2  Slices of Bfree sliced bread
40ml Milk
2 Eggs
25g Butter
15g Icing sugar
Maple syrup
Raspberries & blueberries to garnish

Method
Whisk milk & eggs in a bowl, deep the bread in until it soaks up the mixture on both sides.

Melt the butter in a sauce pan. Once melted add bread and fry on both sides until golden brown and crisp.

Cut the toast in half, sprinkle with icing sugar, berries & maple syrup.

So my opinions on the taste gluten free bread changed and I was surprised by the taste but would I buy gluten free bread? No of course not why would I do a thing like that.

4 thoughts on “Gluten (B)Free: Gluten Free Pancakes & French Toast

  1. Thanks for sharing this for those that need gluten free foods. It is no laughing matter if your doctor has told you that you are allergic to gluten because it seems to be in everything. I know others that have changed to a gluten free diet after they were told by their doctor they had a gluten intolerance and the change was very helpful.
    The web is a great place to share recipes and ideas. Thanks for sharing these recipes.

    Lisa

  2. I love the BFree wraps too so glad you, a wheat guzzling ‘normal person’ also enjoyed them. BFree and Warburtons NewBurn Bakehouse now make really tasty gluten, dairy and egg free wraps. No mean feat but it really does make us allergic and coeliac’s lives easier. Thanks for facing your perceptions of gluten free food and sharing your recipes. Love the idea of the pizza. Will be trying that.

Leave a Reply

