Nobody Calls Me Chicken: Chicken Parmigiana

Chicken ParmigianaWhen ever I think about chicken I have flash backs to my childhood. I grew up in the 80’s alongside space hoppers, Atari 2600 computers & Back to the Future movie. For those of you that have never seen Back to the Future 1, 2 or 3 (I feel sorry you) you would have missed out on  Micheal J Fox’s Oscar worthy (did he win an Oscar for this?) performance as Marty McFly (Yes this is where the band McFly gets its name). Marty is a mild-mannered man until his arch rival Biff calls him a chicken.

In a previous post I posted  (http://wp.me/p4yOty-D) I stated everything taste better deep-fried. I stand by this bold statement but I wish to make a small amendment – Everything taste better deep-fried especially when you add tomato sauce & mozzarella.

I came across Chicken Parmigiana a few years ago and have loved it ever since. An easy dish to prepare in advance for a midweek dinner  or looks great for a dinner party served with creamy mash & vegetables.

Ingredients

4 Chicken Breasts

1 Ball of Mozzarella

1/2 Jar Tomato Sauce or Home Made (http://wp.me/p4yOty-j)

2 Eggs (slightly beaten)

50g Flour

25g Parsley (chopped)

250g Breadcrumbs

10g Salt

10g Pepper

50g Parmesan

Method

Start by butterflying the chicken breasts. Take a knife to the fat part of the chicken breast and cut through the chicken 80% of the way. This will open out the chicken breast. Mix the breadcrumbs, parsley, salt, pepper & parmesan.

Start by placing the chicken in the flour followed by the egg and then in to the breadcrumbs. Deep fry the chicken at 180ºc for 5 minutes until golden brown. Spoon on the tomato sauce, top with mozzarella cheese and bake in the oven.

4 thoughts on “Nobody Calls Me Chicken: Chicken Parmigiana

  1. I will have to make this – I love that it’s so easy. I’ve got a toddler and a newborn baby so I’m all about easy dinners at the moment.

Leave a Reply

